Then & Now: A Look Back at 10 Years

MA Portrait Photographer

As some of you may know, this year we celebrate our 10th anniversary in business.  We have been extremely blessed over the last decade with lots of great clients, new found friendships and we have been doing a lot of reflecting on the past ten years.  I still can’t believe that it has been that long since I made the decision to create my photography business.  I can vividly remember how scared I was, putting myself (and my work) out there for the whole world to see and judge.  It has to be one of the scariest/bravest moments in my life.  Were it not for all the support I received from my wife, friends and family, I never would have done it.  I owe a great deal to all of them!

Throughout the years of creating portraits and photographing many, many weddings our growth came about slowly I think…sometimes even unnoticed, over the weeks, months and years.  In order to see how much I have grown and what I have learned, I decided to conduct my own experiment.  I decided to compare “apples to apples”, so to speak.

My very first client (victim) was Jennie, pictured above.  She was very instrumental in helping me from the very beginning.  She was extremely patient with me as I struggled with learning posing, lighting and all the technical aspects of photography, at the start of my career.  I am eternally grateful to her for this!  After serving her time as my victim, I then photographed Jennie’s boudoir session. I like to think that it was those boudoir photos, that were responsible for the future events in Jennie’s life…that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Fast forward…over the past ten years, I have had the honor and pleasure to photograph Jennie’s engagement session, her wedding, her maternity session, her first baby, her maternity session (2nd child) and we are currently working on photographing the baby #2  stages. Over the years, she has been one of our most valued VIP clients and we have also grown to be good friends.

To celebrate our 10th year in business, I called upon Jennie once again and asked her if she would be willing to come in for a session.  I explained that I wanted to see if had learned anything in the last 10 years and that I was going to use the photos from her 2005 session to compare them with current ones.  Without hesitation she agreed to come in.  That’s why I think she’s so amazing.  She is always so willing to help…no matter what.

Well, I’m happy to say that after comparing the photos, I am very happy with the results and more importantly, so is Jennie.  I think to look at progress is an important step in the learning process.  Sometimes we move so fast in life that we forget to stop and take a look back.  It was a fun experiment and I’m glad I did it, because now I have new energy to move forward in my career and continue perfecting my craft.  Let’s see how much more I can learn in another ten years.

A million thank yous Jennie!  You look as beautiful as ever…10 years later!  🙂

Leave a Reply

